Stir Fried

Eating healthy while leading busy lives can be difficult. I like to make things that don’t have tons of ingredients, that are fresh, and that can be made quickly and easily. As I mentioned last time, eating mindfully, signing up for MyFitnessPal (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/), and avoiding processed foods as much as possible have combined, along with exercise, to finally lead me to lose 20 pounds over the course of the past eight months. Slow but steady for me, but finally success.

It’s still not easy – I’ve been so careful about what I eat, try to get some exercise in at least several times a week, and yet for the past week I’ve been bouncing the same pound up and down. It’s very frustrating, but I keep reminding myself that I’ve been here before, and eventually, the pound stays off and then down to the next one.Yoyo

Sometimes it’s sodium that I may have consumed too much of, other times, my sister and I like to blame the gravitational pull since there doesn’t seem to be any logical explanation for the weight going up again. What I have learned is not to give up. When I first started, I didn’t believe this would really work, even though I knew it had to. I had tried so many other diets, or what I thought was mindful eating, but I guess I wasn’t fully invested. This was my last hope, honestly.

So, to share some of the things that have worked for me, here’s another one of my favorite recipes. It’s barely a recipe, but it’s so delicious, I wanted to share it.

Veggie Stir Fry

stir.fry.6

stir.fry

 

I start with  the Asparagus Saute that you can find at Trader Joe’s. If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you, it’s basically a package of asparagus (obviously), mushrooms, and red onions.

 

Olive oil for sauteeing

 

Seasoning – I use garlic, Mrs. Dash, and Organic Dulse Granulesstir.fry.4

One cup cooked brown and wild rice

Shredded cheese to taste

 

 

 

stir.fry.7Optional: Beyond Meat Chicken-Free Strips (gluten-free) or any substitute chicken strip product

Variation: If you prefer a more Oriental taste, use some Teriyaki sauce and skip the cheese

 

 

 

1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

 

 

2. Once the oil is heated, add the vegetables in a single layer.stir.fry.2

 

3. Cover and cook until the asparagus is bright green (3-5 minutes)

 

 

4. If you’re adding chicken substitute, cook in a separate pan

 

 

stir.fry.35. Uncover the asparagus mixture and sprinkle seasoning (or Teriyaki sauce) on top. Stir frequently and cook until asparagus is tender and slightly browned (5-7 minutes)

 

 

 

 

6. If you’re adding cheese and /or chicken strip substitute, add now, then stir in rice. Serve hot. stir.fry.5

 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright Nancy Machlis Rechtman, all rights reserved

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Stir Fried

  1. thenoveilst October 31, 2014 at 6:54 am Reply

    Wonderful…seems you are a vegetarian like me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nancywriteon October 31, 2014 at 2:10 pm Reply

    Thank you! I do occasionally eat fish, though, so I guess I’m actually a pescatarian!

    Like

  3. […] If you’re looking for healthy and easy cooking, check out Naturally Nancy. The newest recipe is barely a recipe, that’s how easy it is! https://nancywriteon2.wordpress.com/2014/10/31/stir-fried-2/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Miller November 1, 2014 at 1:14 am Reply

    The recipe sounds good and I plan to try this one. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

